A celebration of football on and off the field at the 2022 JJ Clune Awards night

Headshot of Jake Santa Maria
Jake Santa MariaGeraldton Guardian
Dale Williamson and Leith Teakle.
Camera IconDale Williamson and Leith Teakle. Credit: Vanessa Halliday

It was the GNFL night of nights as the 2022 JJ Clune Awards night was held at the Batavia Conference Centre on Tuesday evening.

Now in their 61st year, the awards seek to recognise the best of the GNFL both on and off the field with awards given out to players, administrators and umpires.

It was expected to be a tight battle between Rovers Chris Scott and Railways Jesse Adamini, with cheers going up for both throughout the night when they received votes.

In the end Scott took the overall win with 35 votes while ex-vice president Heather Brett became the first female life member of the league. Olivia Bidwell from Towns and Tayah Palmer from Chapman Valley tied for the women’s award.

GNFL president Carrissa Bellottie said it was an enjoyable night.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


“Sport brings everybody together, to be able to showcase and congratulate for everything they do throughout the season,” she said.

“We enjoy every year of it and we look forward to more years ahead.”

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails