Batavia Red claim Northern Zone Inter-League title at Geraldton Bowling Club

Headshot of Fraser Williams
Fraser WilliamsGeraldton Guardian
Batavia Red claimed the Inter-League title.
Camera IconBatavia Red claimed the Inter-League title. Credit: Geraldton Bowling Club

The Geraldton Bowling Club hosted the annual Northern Zone Inter-League tournament, which helped decide the squad that would compete during the Inter-zone Series.

The three-day tournament featured teams competing in a round-robin format over January 5-7, with the final day seeing an all-stars squad picked to represent the northern zone in Perth for a country carnival.

Six teams competed with Central Midlands, Central West Coast, Moore Districts, North Midlands and two sides from Batavia all represented.

It featured a strong talent pool, with three out of the four members from the 2023 State Fours competition in the tournament, along with multiple players from country week in the mix.

After every team played each other, Batavia Red were victorious after winning four out of their five games, with 14 rinks and finishing on a margin of plus-79 shots.

Their biggest win came against Batavia White in round three, when they finished with a margin of plus-46 shots.

Moore Districts were the runners-up, grabbing four wins and fell short of the title by just one rink as they finished on 13 with a margin of plus-59 shots.

The champion’s rink was won by the squad of Sean Donohue, John Kay, Graeme Curry and Pat Heasman with five wins and a plus-60 shots margin.

The runners-up were Joel Leeson, Peter Leeson, Ian Carlshausen and Warwick Glenister with five wins and a plus-48 shots margin.

The final northern zone all-star squad was announced at the conclusion of the tournament, with the team playing in the Inter-zone Series. Terry Koltasz will be the squad’s team manager.

Skipper: Shane Guidice-Nairn, Joel Leeson, Sean Donohue, Steve Fewster, Wes Benton.

Third: Mike Ford, Peter Leeson, John Kay, Jeremy Thomas, Alfie Carlton.

Second: Jon Trotter, Ian Carlshausen, Paul Fewster, Steve Beckwith, Shane Hickleson.

Lead: Mark Adams, Warwick Glenister, Pat Heasman, Hamish Stalker, Brad Hirsh.

Reserves: Kim Hasson, Wayne Mathews, Bruce Manning.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails