Geraldton Triathlon Club celebrates season with end of year awards

Headshot of Fraser Williams
Fraser WilliamsGeraldton Guardian
Longcourse champion males Byron Clarkson and Lester Smith.
Camera IconLongcourse champion males Byron Clarkson and Lester Smith. Credit: Geraldton Triathlon Club

The Geraldton Triathlon Club celebrated the end of the 20-event season with an Olympic distance triathlon and awards night to honour top performers.

Participants took part in the tough 1500m swim, 41km bike ride and 10km run for the final triathlon run of the year, competing with warm weather and wind conditions.

The Olympic distance men’s was won by Bryon Clarkson with a time of 2hrs. 19mins. 24secs., while the Olympic women’s was won by Caroline Ashby, who completed the track in 2hrs. 36mins.

The club then celebrated the season’s top performers, as Mischa Westlake was awarded the long course female champion after a dominant season of winning every championship event she entered, Brooke Kimpton was the runner up.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


It was a tie in the long course champion men’s, with Clarkson and Lester Smith equalling as the top champ, while Russell Browne came in as runner up.

Petrina Wakelam continued her dominance in the short course, taking out the female champion award for a third year in a row, Deb Carlyon was the runner up.

The men’s short course champion was Jordan O’Brien with Andrew Blackburn coming in second place.

Dwayne Cliffe and Monica Wilson won the champion male and female in the enticer course, with Paul Burkinshaw and Tennessee Forrester taking runner up in each.

With the young competitors, Joshua Orlando won junior triathlete of the year.

Matthew Gannon took home two awards with club person of the year and most improved for the mens, while Trish Sivyer was the women’s most improved.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails