Golfers were in full swing as local players shone when Geraldton hosted 45th country week

Headshot of Fraser Williams
Fraser WilliamsGeraldton Guardian
Gross winner Joel Winkley (Spalding Park Golf Club) and runner-up Nathan Woods (Broome).
Camera IconGross winner Joel Winkley (Spalding Park Golf Club) and runner-up Nathan Woods (Broome). Credit: Geraldton Country Week Golf

Keen golfers hit the greens at Geraldton and Spalding Park clubs for the annual country week tournament.

There was more than 700 rounds of golf played with 225 competitors across men’s and women’s from all over the State, in the 45th annual Geraldton country week competition that ran from January 8-12.

Members from clubs all over WA made the trip to Geraldton, with the competition alternating between Geraldton Golf Club and Spalding Park Golf Club each day.

In the women’s competition, which was played over two days, there was local success as Geraldton Golf Club’s Chris Direen took out the overall win, with a score of 69 across both days.

Locals shining didn’t stop there, as Spalding Park’s Robert Clarke closely beat out Geraldton’s Hayden McLean for the win in the overall Stableford division.

Last year’s grass green gross winner and runner-up flipped spots, as Spalding Park’s Joel Winkley won by a stroke over Broome’s Nathan Woods.

Woods was the winner in 2023 while Winkley trailed by two strokes for the runner-up spot, but takes the bragging rights this time around.

Tyler Allen from Geraldton also came out on top, as he took home the win in the grass green nett results.

Grass green championships

Gross results:

Winner with 146 — Joel Winkley (SPGC)

Runner-up with 147 — Nathan Woods (Broome)

Nett results:

Winner with 145 — Tyler Allen (GGC)

Runner-up on 147 — Shane Wynne (Six Seasons)

Sand green championships

Gross results:

Winner on 159 — Dave Glover (Watheroo)

Runner-up on 162 — Scott Ballantyne (Cuballing)

Nett results:

Winner on 145 — Dave Symcox (Hyden)

Runner-up on 146 — Cameron Yates (Calingiri)

Overall Stableford

Winner on 73 — Robert Clarke (SPGC)

Runner-up on 71 — Harry McLean (GGC)

Team event

Winner on 448 — Dave Glover, Jayden Glover, Kody Glover and Cameron Yates (Watheroo)

Women’s overall

Winner on 69 — Chris Direen (GGC)

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails