Grant the conquerer once again to be series champion as Keefe takes women’s championship with second

Headshot of Jake Santa Maria
Jake Santa MariaGeraldton Guardian
Gerard Grant once again in the final championship series race.
Camera IconGerard Grant once again in the final championship series race. Credit: Megan Grazziadelli

The Geraldton Triathlon Club hosted the final round of its revolutions championships series and there were no surprises as to who the winner was as Gerard Grant finished first once again.

After the gruelling double-triple event last week the club returned to its usual enticer, short and long courses but it did not affect the outcome of the men’s long course.

Grant was once again first across the line in a time of 1hr 17min. though he was at least made to work for it, having to come from behind to beat Byron Clarkson who finished in just under 1:23.

Clarkson has been the bridesmaid to Grant all throughout the year and once again had the better of Grant in the swim emerging over 40sec. in front.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


But once out of the water, Clarkson could not match Grant as he was overhauled in the 27km bike leg before Grant pushed further away in the run as he competed the fastest bike and run legs to formally seal the series championship.

Russell Browne came home in fourth in 1:30.

In the women’s long course, Lisa Cockman finished in front of Lisa Keefe in a close battle with nothing separating less than 15 seconds separating the pair as they completed the bike leg.

Cockman broke away in the run finishing in a time of 1:37 with Keefe two minutes back in 1:39. However, Keefe still takes the series championship with three wins from five..

In the short course, Paul Burkinshaw claimed victory over Andrew Blackburn able to edge in front in all three legs to win in a time of 1:41 with Blackburn clocking 1:03.

Ben Lloyd was unlucky with the fastest swim and run legs of anyone but bike troubles saw him finish last.

Brooke Kimpon won the women’s short course nearly five minutes clear of Deb Craylon in a time of 1:06 with Richelle Giltrap finishing third.

Alex Travasso took the enticer course victory over Scott Dethlefsen. They traded positions with Travasso leading after the swim but Dethlefsen finishing ahead after the bike before Travsso ran down Dethlefesen at the end to win by 35 seconds.

Trish Sivyer came home first in the women’s enticer in 37.17 ahead of Kylie Forrester in second with 39.6.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails