Mitchell Baker takes win during 24th Annual Production Sedan Sizzle in Geraldton

Headshot of Fraser Williams
Fraser WilliamsGeraldton Guardian
Production sedan winner Mitchell Baker.
Camera IconProduction sedan winner Mitchell Baker. Credit: Midwest Speedway Photography

The Geraldton City Speedway hosted its 24th annual Production Sedan Sizzle to send off the year.

The annual event on December 30 featured races in five categories, with the production sedans being the headline event that had nine qualifying heats to make finals.

In the finals, the Junior Top Stars race was won by Hannah Tomkins, coming out with a best lap of 19.361sec., while Brax Root grabbed the win in the Junior New Stars.

Local Neville Fisher had a close win in the supermods, and in the limited sprint cars division it was Nathan Davis taking out the victory.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


In the main event with the production sedans, it was Mitchell Baker who took out the victory by just a hair.

For Baker, the 2020 SSA national junior sedan champion, this big win is one of the more impressive of his career.

During the race, defending champion and brother to the winner, Ashley Baker, was struck with misfortune and forced to make his way back through the field.

For one of the biggest wins of his young career, Baker claimed the $2500 prize, while the podium was rounded out by fellow Holden Commodore drivers Jamie Graham and Hayden Thomas.

Mitchell Baker finished with his best lap coming in at 17:682, which was just behind brother Ashley Baker, whose first lap came in at 17:622, the best in the entire race.

Local hopeful in the final race Masson Fenner was out of the race by lap five, with his best lap clocking in at 18:308.

The Geraldton City Speedway has already begun preparations for the 25th Production Sedan Sizzle, which will again feature a significant prize pool.

Results: 1. W9 Mitchell Baker, 2. W22 Jamie Graham, 3. W43 Hayden Thomas, 4. W32 Jason Walsh, 5. W11 Ashley Baker, 6. W91 Grant Gee, 7. W202 Mick Roberts, 8. W51 Mark Tillett.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails