Mitchell, Fyfe named in extended squads

Headshot of Gavin Box
Gavin BoxGeraldton Guardian

Star Eagles recruit Sam Mitchell and gun Dockers midfielder Nat Fyfe have been named in extended 29-man squads for Saturday’s clash in Geraldton.

The Eagles announced on their website today that the Brownlow medallist, along with former Kangaroos ruckman Petrie, were poised for to make their debuts.

The three have been named in an extended 29-man squad, which includes former Northampton products Josh Kennedy and Jamie Cripps, along with Geelong recruit Nathan Vardy.

The Dockers announced that Fremantle fans could see up to six new players, along with captain Fyfe.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


The club said Fyfe would make his return to senior football after sustaining a broken leg against Carlton in round five, and missing the remainder of the 2016 season.

Michael Johnson, who also suffered a season-ending injury against Carlton, was also named in the squad.

Trade recruits Cam McCarthy, Bradley Hill, Joel Hamling and Shane Kersten were also named – along with draftees Sean Darcy and Brennan Cox.

The clubs will confirm their starting 25-man teams before the 3.40pm bounce down tomorrow.


EAGLES: 1. Sam Mitchell, 2. Mark LeCras, 3. Andrew Gaff, 4. Dom Sheed, 5. Brad Sheppard, 6. Elliot Yeo, 7. Chris Masten, 8. Jack Redden, 11. Matthew Priddis, 12. Sharrod Wellingham, 13. Luke Shuey, 15. Jamie Cripps, 16. Eric Mackenzie, 17. Josh Kennedy, 19. Nathan Vardy, 20. Jeremy McGovern, 21. Drew Petrie, 23. Lewis Jetta, 25. Shannon Hurn, 26. Sam Butler, 27. Jack Darling, 28. Tom Cole, 30. Jackson Nelson, 33. Josh Hill, 34. Mark Hutchings, 37. Tom Barrass, 38. Kurt Mutimer, 40. Tom Gorter, 47. Francis Watson

DOCKERS: 1. Hayden Ballantyne, 3. Zac Dawson, 4. Sean Darcy, 5. Garrick Ibbotson, 6. Danyle Pearce, 7. Nat Fyfe, 8. Nick Suban, 9. Bradley Hill, 10. Michael Walters, 11. Tommy Sheridan, 12. Jon Griffin, 14. Lachie Weller, 15. Ethan Hughes, 16. David Mundy, 17. Hayden Crozier, 18. Darcy Tucker, 19. Connor Blakely, 20. Matt Taberner, 21. Joel Hamling, 22. Shane Kersten, 23. Cam McCarthy, 26. Ed Langdon, 32. Stephen Hill, 33. Cam Sutcliffe, 34. Lee Spurr, 35. Michael Apeness, 36. Brennan Cox, 37. Michael Johnson, 40. Sam Collins

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails