Northampton Rams earn GNFL league grand final rematch with Railways Blues

Reuben CarderGeraldton Guardian
Jarrad Steel holds onto the ball in a clash with Chapman Valley's Jesse Alone in last season’s reserves grand final.
Camera IconJarrad Steel holds onto the ball in a clash with Chapman Valley's Jesse Alone in last season’s reserves grand final. Credit: Arctic Moon Photography/Supplied, Arctic Moon Photography

Railways and Northampton face off on Sunday for the Great Northern Football League reserves flag.

Northampton earned a second chance against the Blues with a strong showing in the preliminary final on Sunday, beating Brigades 14.15 (99) to 5.4 (34).

The Rams stormed to the minor premiership by six points, but fell short against Railways in the second semifinal 9.4 (58) to 6.7 (43).

The Blues have had an extra week off and will fancy their chances, but Northampton’s win last week was convincing.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


Sam Broughton and Liam Campbell each kicked four goals for the Rams, while Tyler Harris got two and Bradley Reynolds, Craig Lucas and Jarrah Reeves each got one.

Harris, Broughton, Campbell, Charles Mallard and Jarrod Rodney were their best.

In the two teams’ last match-up in the second semi, Reeves kicked three goals for the Rams while Mallard got two and Riley Fenner one.

Kasey Hasleby was Northampton’s best in that game, ahead of Bradley Reynolds, Rodney, Reeves and Steel. Troy Simpson kicked four goals for Railways, Christopher Tubby scored two and Simon Evans, Jamie Allen and Darryl George got one each.

Oliver Zampin, Brendan Harrington, Simon Lorimer, David Daley and Ben Amphlett were their best.

The Rams have the two highest goal scorers remaining in the division. Bradley Atkinson has 18 goals, while Steel has 14.

Craig Lucas, Reeves, Harrison Pluschke, Zac McIntosh and Rodney have capably backed them up.

Railways’ top scorer is Troy Simpson, with 14 goals for the season, while Tubby has 13.

Behind them are Darryl George, Patrick Brimson, Joseph Iaria, Jamie Allen and Jack Calver.

Rodney has been Northampton’s best, ahead of Reeves, Tyler Harris, Dean Higbee and Gregory Cross.

Brendan Harrington has been Railways’ best, while Oliver Zampin, Lewis Peacock, David Daley, Tubby and Craig Vinci have shone.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails