Sportsmans to play Wanderers in Geraldton women’s cricket final after win against Chapman Valley-Northampton

Victor TantiGeraldton Guardian
Chapman Valley-Northampton's Kylie Bremner.
Camera IconChapman Valley-Northampton's Kylie Bremner. Credit: Reuben Carder/Geraldton Guardian

Sportsmans locked in a place in the Young Motors Women’s Cricket League final on Sunday.

Sporties ensured their berth against Wanderers with a T20 win against Chapman Valley-Northampton at GBSC4 with one round to play.

Sent in to bat, Sporties made 2-88 thanks to Stacey Jerrard (41 not out) who batted through the innings.

She and Amanda Gundry (17) put on 30 for the first wicket.

Kylie Bremner and Chloe Phillips each took a wicket and went for seven and 13 runs off their respective four overs.

CVN struggled in the chase as Tia Hatch conceded only three runs in her four overs while Hayley Criddle and Sarah Prickett each took a wicket.

CVN were 2-16 after 10 overs and needed 7.3 an over to win but gave it a go with Charlene Miller (26 not out) and Bremner (14) attacking, finishing on 3-72.

At GBSC3, Wanderers notched 6-119 with Meg Spalding (50) and Olivia Bidwell (29) top-scoring.

Towns slumped to 4-20 in the reply and their losses included key bat Pam Micke, caught by Spalding off Sam Biddiscombe (3-10).

Towns then rallied with a 58-run stand between Dirranie Kirby (34 not out) and Sarah McKay (15) and ended at 5-83.

Bidwell and Biddiscombe are runaway leaders in the women’s cricketer of the year standings.

Bidwell is on 688 points after the latest round and Biddiscombe is on 631.

Sporties’ Jo Walker, Towns’ Pam Micke and CVN’s Bremner make up the rest of the top five.

A new women’s cricket champion will be crowned.

Missing standout performer Janelle Phillips due to shoulder surgery for most of the campaign, Towns will not be able to defend their flag.

The brilliant, all-Indigenous Bluff Point side that made history as the first ever local women’s champions were not able to enter a team this season.

Wanderers or Sporties will be confirmed as the third champion in local women’s cricket history in two weeks’ time.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails