Speedy Travasso tied for top enticer spot as Geraldton Triathlon Club heads on to home straight

Headshot of Reuben Carder
Reuben CarderGeraldton Guardian
Mathijs Travasso coming out of the water ahead of Scott Dethlefsen.
Camera IconMathijs Travasso coming out of the water ahead of Scott Dethlefsen. Credit: Geraldton Triathlon Club/Supplied

With one championship race left in the season, Sunday’s Geraldton Triathlon Club race should provide an interesting preview of the final standings.

The club will hold the It’s a Long Way To The Top . . . Or Finish club race at St Georges Beach.

There is a battle of the generations in the male event on the enticer, the shortest course.

When teenager Mathijs Travasso is old enough to get his learner’s permit in a couple of years time he’ll already be used to going fast.

He’s tied for top enticer spot with Scott Dethlefsen, on 13 championship points.

Rob Grazziadelli is in third on six points.

Trish Sivyer is well clear in the female enticer standings, on 16 points, ahead of Chloe Spence on nine points and Jill Weller on six.

On the short course, Paul Burkinshaw has 16 points, just one point ahead of Gerard Grant. Rodney Eva has 11 points.

Petrina Wakelam is well ahead in the female standings, on 19 points compared with Jess Wake’s 10 points.

Deb Carlyon has six points.

There is daylight between Amy Wakelam and her nearest rivals on the female long course.

Wakelam has 10 points while Helen Taylor and Lisa Keefe are tied on four points each.

Scott Dennett, on 15 points, has a narrow lead in the male event over Russell Brown, who has 13 points.

Lester Smith is third with nine points.

Jane Wilson was the female enticer winner at the club’s Run Ride Run event last Sunday.

She crossed the line ahead of Karina Day and Kylie Forrester.

Zeke Forrester won the male event ahead of Jack Ivey. Travasso underlined his championship credentials with third place.

On the female short course, Sivyer took the win ahead of Brooke Kimpton and Carissa Mincherton.

Grant won the male long course, beating Lester Smith and Barry Doyle.

Petrina Wakelam won the female long course event from Amy Wakelam.

The final championship race will be on March 27.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails