Unbeaten Towns, women’s league leaders Wanderers in action as Geraldton cricket restarts

Victor TantiGeraldton Guardian
Olivia Bidwell watches her delivery hit Michelle McDonald's stumps.
Camera IconOlivia Bidwell watches her delivery hit Michelle McDonald's stumps. Credit: Colin Sherman/Supplied

The hot favourites are in action this weekend as the Geraldton Bendigo Bank Cricket League resumes.

Towns play Chapman Valley-Northampton in Young Motors T20 competition at Wonthella tonight.

Towns are unbeaten in not only the T20 series but also the premiership, which the T20s are part of.

CVN at their best are competitive, but if they hope to win they will need to find a way to make enough runs against a relentless and varied attack that has claimed all of a possible 110 wickets.

To emphasise that, three of those games were T20s, where taking all 10 wickets is supposed to be a rare feat even when you win. Impressive.

The top four in the league’s bowling averages are Towns’ Kodi Giltrow, Sam Crouch, Josh DeLacy and Brady Collins, while Tom Forsyth is sixth. Between them they have 74 wickets at 8.91.

Towns and CVN again clash on Saturday when 50-over games resume, this time at Nabawa.

Wanderers play Sportsmans at GBSC1 in the other game.

Wanderers have second place all but secured but third spot — the remaining finals berth — is up in the air.

Sportsmans currently trail the field, but a win would be enough to take them to third if CVN lose and perhaps, if they win well enough, even if CVN are successful.

The Young Motors women’s league also restarts, with the first of three remaining rounds before finals on Sunday.

Local women have proven they’re the best in regional and country WA with their success at Country Week and now turn their attention to club cricket.

Both games start at 2pm, with Towns to play CVN at GBSC3, a game likely to be close, while competition leaders Wanderers play the only team that can match them, Sportsmans, at GBSC4.

The race for Cricketer of the Year is also heating up.

Towns’ Pam Micke and Sportsmans’ Jo Walker are a chance, but the winner is likely one of Wanderers duo Olivia Bidwell and Sam Biddiscombe.

B-grade (40 overs): Wan v BP (Muir); Don v Spo (Wonthella); Twn v CVN (Rec).

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails