Bulldogs claim lucky 13th flag

Staff reporter, GERALDTON GUARDIANGeraldton Guardian

Towns claimed their 13th Great Northern Football League grand final yesterday, with a 71-point victory over Railways.

In the reserves, the Bulldogs also claimed the spoils, edging out a resilient Railways to win by five points in a thriller.

It was a case of third time lucky for Chapman Valley in the colts.

The Royals overcame Brigades by eight points to snare victory after premiership disappointments in 2014 and 2015.

In the Geraldton Hockey Association, Casuals clinched the men’s A-grade grand final in a golden goal thriller over Yacht Club on Saturday night.

Cardinals claimed the women's premiership with a 4-0 victory over Murchison, capping off a dominant season.

In the Geraldton Netball Association, Falcons won the Senior One grand final in a tight contest against Kazuals, 54-49, on Friday night.



2016 League

Towns 5.1, 7.5, 13.5, 20.7 (127)

Railways 2.5, 4.8, 6.12, 7.14 (56)

GOALS, Towns : Tim Bowdell 5, Andrew Hodder 3, Jeremy D'Mello 2, Ryan Bowley 2, Calib Mourish 2, Liam Carlyon 1, Anthony Kyanga 1, Jordan Ugle 1, Stuart Gaby 1, Tristan Simpson 1, Justin Hodder 1

Railways : Max Murphy 2, Joshua Simpson 2, Matthew Clark 2, Cory Foot 1

BEST, Towns : Nicholas Duigan, Tim Bowdell, Chris Kane, Liam Carlyon, Andrew Hodder

Railways : Jy Stone, Callum Jupp, Max Murphy, Peter Kimberley, Matthew Kimberley

Umpires: P. Williamson, S. Pratt & B. Forrester

Geraldton Guardian Medal & EFFC Award: Shaun Tunbridge (Towns)

2016 Reserves

Towns 0.1, 3.6, 5.6, 6.10 (46)

Railways 3.4, 4.4, 6.4, 6.5 (41)

GOALS, Towns : Allan Headland 4, Dale Baynes 2

Railways : Elliot Delaney 4, Ben O'Brien 1, Jake Clairs 1

BEST, Towns : Benjamin Svenson, Dylan Thorne, Brendon Hancock, Dale Baynes, Corey Dickerson

Railways : Ben O'Brien, Byron Jones, Blake Stanton, Robert Elliot

Geraldton Sporting Aboriginal Corporation Charles Comeagain Medal: Allan Headland (Towns)

2016 BluSteel Colts

Chapman Valley 4.3, 8.4, 9.5, 11.5 (71)

Brigades 2.2, 4.2, 8.5, 9.9 (63)

GOALS, Chapman Valley : Michael Wright 3, Jayden Owen 3, Jack Te Aho 1, Connor Adam 1, Liam Woodman 1, Jai Jackson 1, Ryan Forrester 1

Brigades : Kristerfer Ryder 3, Kaiden Dann 3, Connor Tormey 1, Joshua Gray 1, Dion Dann 1

BEST, Chapman Valley : Ryan Forrester, Zeno Valenti, Cooper Caimanos, Finlay Bain, Michael Wright

Brigades : Caleb Gray, Connor Tormey, Jed Edwards, Brendan Scott, Kaiden Dann

Alan Cox Medal: Zeno Valenti (Chapman Valley)

EFFC Award: Caleb Gray (Brigades)

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails