Nominations for exceptional sports people open as Geraldton Guardian Mid West Sports Awards return

Headshot of Reuben Carder
Reuben CarderGeraldton Guardian
Email Reuben Carder
2019 Local Achiever's Award winners Three Springs Netball Club, with Jason McCarthy.
Camera Icon2019 Local Achiever's Award winners Three Springs Netball Club, with Jason McCarthy. Credit: Arctic Moon Photography

If you know a high-flying daredevil windsurfer, an up-and-coming footy star, an offbeat netball club or someone who deserves recognition for inclusion, it’s that time of year.

With the Geraldton Guardian Mid West Sports Awards set to go ahead this year, the Mid West Sports Federation is calling on clubs to nominate outstanding sports people.

Federation chair Mike Bowley said this year’s awards would be a special edition covering the past two years of sporting performance.

“It’s exciting to be back to celebrate the sporting achievements of people and organisations across the region over the past two years,” Bowley said.

“The 2021 event is certain to be huge and we encourage all sports to consider the achievements of their fellow sportspeople and submit nominations.”

He said this year would have been the 50th presentation of the awards, thought to be the longest-standing regional sports awards in the country, but last year’s awards did not go ahead due to COVID-19.

There are categories for senior and junior sports stars and coach, administrator and club of the year.

The ATLAS inclusion award recognises efforts to increase diversity in sports and there is also the Midwest Academy of Sports athlete of the year award and a sports personality award.

Bowley said the federation was looking forward to having comedian Peter Rowsthorn as MC and expected a “terrific night” of entertainment and celebration.

Windsurfer Jaeger Stone was senior sportsperson of the year in 2019 after winning the Red Bull Storm Chase event in extreme weather in Northern Ireland, while Netball WA-Midwest Gascoyne and local netballer Katherine Garraway won the inclusion award. East Fremantle colt Jed Hagan was junior sports star and the Three Springs Netball Club won the local achievers award.

Hall of Fame nominations close on October 25 and award nominations close on November 7.

Nomination forms are available at and can also be submitted on the website.

Get the latest news from in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails